“About me” section of a lonely Japanese man’s daily e-diary.

 

Thanks for clicking “about me”. You may leave in a few second, but in this moment, you have just found me out from the vast space in the World Wide Web. Though I am not sure whether you are interested in me or just mistakenly clicked “about me”, I am happy that you come here, because I am a quite isolated, lonely guy so it’s like I do not exist in this world for main stream people. Now I am going to write about me; but I am sorry, it is no good to expose personal information that identify who I am on the World Wide Web, so following will be 70% truth and 30% lie.

I was born in the late 60’s. My birthplace is in rural area in Japan. Some of you may believe that Japan is in Southeast Asia, but it’s not true, It is located in northeast Asia. People in developed area of Japan like Tokyo often look down the area where I was born. I don’t like that, but actually where I was raised up should be said to be a rural area, for example, there was no book store in my town, there were a few TV channels, and you had to wait two hours if you miss a train.
So when I was a child, I could not get things so much that should be easy to get if I were lived in Tokyo. I didn’t study much but liked reading, though it is hard to get a new book. And I liked to listen to radio. This habit is still going on, I always turn on my radio when I am in my small apartment. When I was junior high and high school student, I listened to Japanese program from foreign countries by a shortwave radio. Thanks to the internet, people nowadays cannot believe how difficult to get information from other countries, but at that time, so many people used shortwave radio to get what is going on in other countries. In addition that was still in the cold war era. I know it would be an exaggeration, but I had got to know that international affair was severe more than what ordinary Japanese citizens think.
And music is an important part of my life. Since I listened to shortwave radio so much, I liked US and UK pop charts far more than Japanese hit songs. When I was a junior high, I listened to Beatles’ songs in addition to popular songs at that time. Then when I was a high school student, my favorite music genre turned to be classical, especially piano music. I like Bach, Lists, and so on. Since I have got a job, I became too busy to listen classical music that are long time wise, I got back again to US popular songs like Carole King and James Taylor. It was mid 90’s and music scene was already occupied by electric rhythm machine sounds, but I loved old 70’s sounds on weekend between hard working of weekday.
And there is one more thing that is important to me, it is English. You may feel uncomfortable for my poor English. English is not my mother tongue. I have tried to learn English but I know I will never be able to learn it. I listened to Car Talk and A Prairie Home Companion every weekend, but I cannot understand why they burst into laugh when someone tells a joke. I know it will never change until I die, but I will keep on trying to learn English. I am not sure why I am doing so, but basically it is fun and it makes me feel something new.
Now I am a hard working guy who over works 120 hours plus regular hours. I hate my job, but it is the only way to make money. Someday I will be free from this modern slavery. Writing this blog doesn’t help me quit hardships, but does ease my stress. I think no one reaches this last sentence, but if it were, thanks so much.

Goodbye, see you tomorrow.

Weblog:

http://aiueo5.wordpress.com

Photograph:

http://dnicholsphotos.com

